SoDakNORML Home
SoDakNORML.org

Eric Sage complains about highway patrolman and state's attorney mugging him.

You can scroll down the page to read these letters of complaint, all sent Jan 25 2008).
or you can click on the link...

Letter of Complaint to So. Dak. Attorney General Larry Long (immediately below)
     No response has been received as of Feb 22 2008.

Letter of Complaint to Dept. of Public Safety Secretary Tom Dravland
     Dravland replies (Feb. 11 2008)
     Eric Sage responds to Dravland's insulting reply (Feb. 22 2008)

Letter of Complaint to So. Dak. Bar Disciplinary Committee
     The cover letter to the complaint is below. Read it, then follow the link to 
     Disciplinary Committee testimony and verdict.

Letter of Complaint and bill for damages to Pennington County Commission
   Coyote in your henhouse? Send complaint to the coyote, of course. (Mar.8, '08, to present)

 

  

January 25, 2008

Eric Sage
email me
Sidney NE 69162

Larry Long
South Dakota Attorney General

1302 E Hwy 14; Suite 1
Pierre SD 57501

Attorney General Long;

Consider this letter a formal complaint against Pennington County Deputy State’s Attorney Gina S. Nelson.

While I realize that any disciplinary action taken against a deputy state’s attorney is properly the responsibility of the state’s attorney who hired her, it seems unlikely that Glenn Brenner will take such action.

Enclosed is a copy of my complaint to the So. Dak. Bar concerning her acts, along with the narrative that recites those acts.

I believe that both Ms. Nelson’s and Mr. Brenner’s actions have raised serious questions regarding their abilities to represent justice and the rule of law. Your office should take whatever action it can to discourage such behavior.

I look forward to hearing from you on this matter.

Very truly yours,

Eric Sage

Supporting Documents sent with complaints...

The Complaint Narrative

"Chewing and Grinding"

The tickets written by HP Trautman and DSA Nelson

List of Expenses incurred by the victim, Eric Sage


January 25, 2008

Eric Sage
email me
Sidney NE 69162

Tom Dravland, Secretary
South Dakota Department of Public Safety

118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre SD 57501

Secretary Dravland;

Consider this letter a formal complaint against South Dakota Highway Patrol Trooper Dave Trautman.

Enclosed is a narrative that outlines acts committed by Trooper Trautman that are outside the scope of proper procedures for any law enforcement officer.

Among the principles Trooper Trautman violated are these from the So. Dak. Highway Patrol’s Mission Statement:

We will protect the innocent from deception, protect the weak against oppression….

We will respect the Constitutional rights of all. We will endeavor to uphold the principles of liberty and justice.

Troopers will strive for excellence in the performance of their duties. We will not abuse our oath, our badge, our honor.

In addition, I am quite sure there is a Highway Patrol procedural statement that prohibits assigning guilt automatically to everyone in sight of where a criminal offense has been discovered.

I will be pleased to hear from you concerning any action taken on this matter.

Very truly yours,

Eric Sage

Read Tom Dravland's reply to Eric Sage, and Sage's response to that

 


January 25, 2008

Eric Sage
email me
Sidney NE 69162

Disciplinary Board
The State Bar of South Dakota

222 E. Capitol
Pierre SD 57501

To the chairman;

Consider this a formal complaint against Gina S. Nelson, Pennington County Deputy State’s Attorney, for violations of several of the South Dakota Bar’s Rules of Professional Conduct.

I believe Ms. Nelson, in her capacity of prosecutor, and thus representing the State as client, violated, at least, the following rules (there are probably other violations), including;

The whole spirit and much of the letter of the Preamble to the Rules; and

Rule 1.1. Competence.
     A lawyer shall provide competent representation to a client. 
     Competent representation requires the legal knowledge, skill, thoroughness 
     and preparation reasonably necessary for the representation; and
Rule 1.3. Diligence.
     A lawyer shall act with reasonable diligence and promptness in representing a 
     client. “The lawyer's duty to act with reasonable diligence does not require the 
     use of offensive tactics or preclude the treating of all persons involved in the 
     legal process with courtesy and respect.”; and
Rule 3.8. Special Responsibilities of a Prosecutor.
     The prosecutor in a criminal case shall:
          1. refrain from prosecuting a charge that the prosecutor knows is not supported 
          by probable cause; and
Rule 4.4. Respect for Rights of Third Persons. 
     1. In representing a client, a lawyer shall not use means that have no substantial 
     purpose other than to embarrass, delay, or burden a third person, or use methods of 
     obtaining evidence that violate the legal rights of such a person; and
Rule 8.4. Misconduct.
     It is professional misconduct for a lawyer to:
          (a) violate or attempt to violate the rules of professional conduct, 
          knowingly assist or induce another to do so, or do so through the acts of another.

A narrative including descriptions of DSA Nelson’s offensive acts accompanies this letter. It should be obvious how the references above apply to her acts.

Very truly yours,

Eric Sage

Follow this link to Disciplinary Committee testimony and verdict.

 


January 25, 2008

Eric Sage
email me
Sidney NE 69162

Brenda Young, Chairman
Pennington County Commission

315 Saint Joseph Street; Suite 156
Rapid City, SD 57701

Chairman Young;

This letter contains a complaint against the Pennington County State’s Attorney’s office, and against State’s Attorney Glenn Brenner and Deputy State’s Attorney Gina Nelson.

Enclosed is a narrative outlining the acts committed by the above-named parties, as well as a statement of the financial damage done me by those acts. These acts placed the taxpayers of Pennington County in jeopardy, not to mention the public view of the very integrity of the state’s attorney’s office.

Upon receipt of the sum of $4027.50, I shall cease action on this matter.

Very truly yours,

Eric Sage

For further correspondence with the Penn. Co. Commission, click here.

 

 

Supporting Documents sent with complaints...

The Complaint Narrative

"Chewing and Grinding"

The tickets written by HP Trautman and DSA Nelson

List of Expenses incurred by the victim, Eric Sage